Start your divorce online in Kansas

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM

Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Your satisfaction is 100% guaranteed.
$299
Let’s confirm you qualify
Not in Kansas? Find your state By clicking "Let’s get started" you agree to the Terms of Service

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Our online divorce solution launched the industry
SaveYou can save thousands over the typical divorce process
OverMore than 22 years and over 800,000 customers served
No one-size-fits-all plan— you choose the tools you need
Benefits of 
an online divorce

Benefits of an online divorce

Why Choose Divorce.com?

Divorce.com is a prompt and affordable service for getting uncontested divorce papers without paying thousands of dollars to expensive lawyers. This platform was built to help people with amicable divorces save money and time and get divorce documents online.

Divorce.com will equip you with a completed packet of legal forms for any circumstances. You can be sure that the papers will comply with your state standards and local court rules.

The process of getting the paperwork is elementary. You’ll need to complete the following steps:

  • Pass the eligibility check and register an account,
  • Answer our online questionnaire.
  • Check the information and fix any mistakes or typos.
  • Submit the answers for processing.
  • Download and print the completed paperwork in a PDF format in just two days.

With Divorce.com, it’s as easy as that!

Kansas divorce forms

Kansas Divorce Forms

Divorce documents for starting the marriage dissolution process differ, depending on the complexity of each married couple’s situation. The possible factors include the presence of minor children and significant property.

Spouses looking for divorce forms online will only find a few documents at the state’s self-help resources. But the papers for more specific circumstances are usually not available or hard to find.

Below are some basic forms required in Kansas:

  • Civil Information Sheet
  • Additional Civil Party Information
  • Petition for Divorce
  • Poverty Affidavit
  • Voluntary Entry of Appearance (In State or Out of State)
  • Request and Service Instruction Form
  • Summons & Return of Service
  • Return of Service for Certified Mail
  • Affidavit of Service by Publication
  • Order Allowing Service by Publication
  • Publication Service Notice of Suit
  • Domestic Relations Affidavit (DRA)
  • Parenting Plan
  • Child Support Worksheet
  • Vital Statistics Worksheet
  • Kansas Payment Center Form
  • Notice of Hearing
  • Decree of Divorce

Couples without minor children don’t need some of the forms from the list above. For example, the Parenting Plan, the Child Support Worksheet, and Kansas Payment Center Form don’t apply to spouses without underage children.

Divorce forms preparation

Divorce forms preparation

How to Fill Out Divorce Forms in Kansas

Obtaining Kansas blank divorce forms is only half the task. Filling them out might be even more complicated for some people. So, here’s some advice and helpful tips on how to complete the forms with the necessary information:

  • Read the papers and the instructions provided for some questions.
  • Look up the terminology you don’t know in the dictionaries and Kansas Statutes.
  • Collect important information, such as the marriage and separation date, social security number, each spouse’s address, etc. You will need it to fill out the personal data sections.
  • Make sure your husband or wife agrees to the terms of divorce if you part amicably.
  • If you plan to fill out the forms manually, use only black ink.
  • Write down the agreed-upon divorce terms in the forms.
  • Check for errors and fix mistakes if necessary.

Note which forms require notarization before signing. Usually, they will have a verification section at the end of the document.

When you fill out the papers without help, you may face difficulties or make mistakes. Unfortunately, this is the reason many filings are unsuccessful.

If you want to be sure of the paperwork quality in your uncontested DIY divorce, use Divorce.com. This online service will collect and fill out the legal papers that fit your case and comply with the state standards. You will also receive a comprehensive filing guide to start your divorce asap.

Filing for
Divorce in
Kansas

Steps to Consider

Residency Requirements

Kansas courts can grant a divorce to any couple who meets residency requirements. It is the only way judges can have jurisdiction to divide property or determine child custody.

The residency requirements are as follows. A petitioner or a respondent must be a resident of Kansas for 60 days before they file a Petition for Divorce.

If one spouse is a military member, they may also file for divorce in Kansas, if they have been stationed within the state limits for 60 days.

Grounds for Divorce

Spouses seeking a divorce in Kansas must include the legal reason in their Petition. For example, state laws provide both no-fault and fault-based grounds for divorce.

  • Incompatibility (the couple must prove that their marriage is broken and there’s no chance to repair it)
  • Failure to perform a material (financial) duty or obligation
  • Incompatibility because of mental illness or incapacity

Incompatibility because of mental illness must be accompanied by confinement in an institution for two years and the testimony of three physicians.

Initial Filing

The petitioner must collect and submit the following papers to the district clerk’s office:

  • Petition for Divorce
  • Domestic Relations Affidavit
  • Civil Information Sheet

The petitioner may file a Voluntary Entry of Appearance, if the divorce is uncontested. Otherwise, they must submit the Request for Service Form.

The filing party must take the original papers and two copies of each form to court in the county where they or the respondent lives.

Filing Fees

Every petitioner must cover the filing fee when submitting their divorce papers to the district court. Depending on the county, this payment ranges between $100 and $200. Hiring a sheriff to serve divorce papers on your spouse would cost an additional $15-$20.

If a person can’t afford to pay the fees, they can ask the court for a fee waiver by filing a Poverty Affidavit Form. The judge will review it and decide whether to grant the request.

Serving the Respondent

The next step of the filing process is notifying the respondent about the divorce case. The petitioner cannot give the respondent a copy of all papers in person. Kansas rules of civil procedure allow several methods:

  • by sheriff
  • by a private process server
  • by certified mail
  • by publication

The other spouse may file a counterclaim, if the divorce is not amicable. Otherwise, the respondent may sign the Voluntary Entry of Appearance as the acknowledgment of service.

Waiting Period

Kansas law imposes a waiting period on all divorce cases. It means that the spouses must wait 60 days from the filing date until they can finalize their divorce. And, it doesn’t matter if they part amicably or not. However, the court may shorten this waiting period in the case of an emergency.

The spouses can use these two months to negotiate their divorce terms independently or by hiring a divorce mediator. They should also attend parenting classes, if the local court orders it.

Finalizing a Divorce Case

The last few stages are scheduling a hearing and attending it. First, the petitioner must contact the clerk and ask them to set a date for the hearing. Then, they must send the other spouse a copy of the Notice of Hearing.

The spouses should complete and bring a Decree of Divorce with three copies and all other papers filed with the district clerk. After the judge signs the decree, the petitioner must file it and give a copy to the respondent.

What Clients Say About Us

Stars

With Divorce.com, I enjoyed a seamless and stress-free process of paperwork preparation. I think it’s the easiest way to get divorce papers out there.

Stephen B.

Stars

Divorce.com helped me figure out the most complicated stuff in my divorce, which is getting divorce forms. I received them in just two days. And the best part is the low price. So, I’m really grateful!

Bryan J.

Stars

I was truly amazed at the simplicity of the entire paperwork process. I thought it would be more complicated and expensive. But Divorce.com did the job quickly and saved me lots of money.

Alan W.

Stars

Thanks to Divorce.com, I got my completed divorce forms without paying thousands of dollars to attorneys. Plus, it’s very convenient to work on your progress from home. I can definitely recommend this service!

Adalyn F.

Prev slideNext slide
1/
Uncontested divorce 
in Kansas

Uncontested Divorce in Kansas

Traditional litigation is not the only decision for all couples seeking a divorce in Kansas. Many opt for amicable conflict resolution and represent their cases in the courthouse without lawyers. This approach saves tens of thousands of dollars and simplifies the divorce process.

Uncontested divorces have several conditions. First, both spouses must negotiate and conclude a settlement agreement, which the court will include in the final judgment. This agreement must consist of the following parts:

  • property division: assets, debts, real estate, vehicles, etc.
  • child-related provisions: custody and support
  • alimony, insurance, etc.

The main stumbling stone to getting an uncontested divorce is the paperwork. The divorce expenses are usually exorbitant if a person hires a lawyer to draft it. However, there is another way.

Divorce.com can supply you with the complete packet of divorce forms in only two business days. Plus, it’s quick, cheap, and convenient since all the papers are completed online.

Child custody

Getting a Divorce with Children in Kansas

Child custody

Couples with minor children may submit a joint parenting plan or proposed plans (if the issue is contested) for the court’s approval. In all cases, the judges will decide on child custody based on the child’s best interests.

The family law court will determine the decision-making rights (legal custody) and the future residency of a child. Legal custody can be of one of two types:

  • Joint legal custody - parents make collective decisions about the child’s education, health, religion, etc.
  • Sole legal custody - only one custodial parent decides what is best for the children.

The court will also determine the place where the child will live:

  • Divided residency (children live with each parent and have visitation time with another parent)
  • Non-parental residency (the children live with a third party temporarily or permanently, if the parents are unfit to raise them)

The court might require that the parents complete the parenting classes before the final hearing or resolve the child-related issues at the mediation sessions. Without a mutual agreement, the judges will decide these matters themselves.

Child Support

Child Support

Child support is financial aid from parents to their underage children until they turn 18 or graduate from high school. In several cases, the court may extend the payments, e.g., if the child is disabled and cannot support themselves.

The support amount should cover basic expenses, such as clothing, transportation, schooling, etc. Kansas uses the Income Shares Model and child support schedules to determine these obligations. They are based on the child’s age, the parent’s gross income, and the number of kids.

Parents with equal parenting time can use a shared expense formula or adjust their parenting time. Also, if the parent’s income exceeds the highest amount, the court will use a specific formula to calculate the support obligation.

Divorce Without a Lawyer in Kansas

Divorce Without
a Lawyer
in Kansas

Kansas state laws allow spouses to represent their divorce case in court, without a lawyer. However, it’s not the best idea for couples with many unresolved disputes.

But if both parties agree on the terms of their marriage dissolution, they may save money on lawyers. And in Kansas, it’s a substantial amount. For example, an average divorce will cost $8,000.

So, the primary step to divorce amicably without a lawyer is to reach an agreement on divorce terms. Then, the couples must draft the legal paperwork, such as a Petition for Divorce or Civil Information Sheet. The amount of papers depends on the circumstances.

If completing the paperwork sounds complicated and overwhelming, you can always use Divorce.com. Our system will select and fill out all the necessary forms to start your uncontested divorce.

Getting papers with Divorce.com is easy and fast. You will only need to register and answer some questions about your divorce. And in two days, you will receive the completed documentation packet and step-by-step filing instructions.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long will it take to get divorced in Kansas?

The shortest time that the spouses can get divorced is 60 days. However, if they have many unresolved disputes, their divorce process will take from 6 to 12 months on average.

Can I get a free divorce in Kansas?

A free divorce is possible if you don’t hire a lawyer and ask the court for a fee waiver. To do this, you need to file a Poverty Affidavit with proof of insufficient financial funds to cover the filing fees.

How do I file for divorce in Kansas?

The filing process in Kansas starts with a petitioner submitting the Petition for Divorce and a few other forms (such as a Domestic Relations Affidavit) to the clerk’s office in the county where either party lives.

How much does a divorce cost in Kansas?

A Kansas divorce costs anywhere from $1,500 for uncontested cases to $8,000 for contested ones. However, if you don’t have much money, Divorce.com will help you get divorce paperwork fast and inexpensively.