Start your divorce online in Nevada

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM

Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Your satisfaction is 100% guaranteed.
$299
Let’s confirm you qualify
Not in Nevada? Find your state By clicking "Let’s get started" you agree to the Terms of Service

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Our online divorce solution launched the industry
SaveYou can save thousands over the typical divorce process
OverMore than 22 years and over 800,000 customers served
No one-size-fits-all plan— you choose the tools you need
Benefits of 
an online divorce

Benefits of an online divorce

Why Choose Divorce.com?

Divorce.com makes divorce preparations a piece of cake. This service will take care of the legal paperwork, leaving couples with high quality divorce paperwork and zero issues. So, there’s no more need to hire expensive attorneys or waste time searching for the correct forms.

You’ll need a computer, phone, or any other device with an Internet connection and the readiness to answer several questions about your divorce.

So, the main steps you’ll need to take are:

  • Pass a simple eligibility check and complete the online questionnaire.
  • Review your answers and correct mistakes, if any.
  • Submit the questionnaire for processing.
  • Get your quick and affordable papers prepared in a PDF format in only two business days.
  • Download the divorce documents, print and notarize them, if needed.

Divorce.com is your inexpensive and fast paperwork solution!

Nevada divorce forms

Nevada Divorce Forms

The court forms to start an amicable divorce in Nevada may differ depending on the spouses’ circumstances. For example, couples need additional forms if they have minor children.

Some blank documents may be found at the state’s online self-help center. The basic Nevada divorce forms include:

  • Complaint for Divorce and UCCJEA Declaration (With Children)
  • Complaint for Divorce (No Children)
  • Civil Cover Sheet
  • Confidential Information Sheet (with or without children)
  • Summons
  • Answer and Counterclaim For Divorce
  • Affidavit of Service
  • Ex Parte Motion for Publication
  • Affidavit of Due Diligence
  • Order to Serve by Publication
  • Waiver of Service of Summons
  • Reply to Counterclaim
  • Affidavit of Resident Witness
  • Child Support Worksheet
  • General Financial Disclosure Form
  • Decree of Divorce (with or without children)
  • Notice of Entry of Order

The list of papers may differ from county to county. For instance, some local courts require specific forms only used in their districts, so check this information before filing your divorce case.

Divorce forms preparation

Divorce forms preparation

How to Fill Out Divorce Forms in Nevada

Filling out the forms can be tedious and requires time and additional information. Plus, you must understand what sections to complete and which ones to leave blank. Overall, it’s a complicated task, so you’ll need some guidance.

  • Look through all the forms and read the instructions provided for some questions.
  • Note all unfamiliar terms and find them in the legal dictionaries and Nevada Revised Statutes.
  • Gather important information, such as marriage and separation dates, the list of property and debt, etc.
  • Talk to your husband or wife and discuss all the terms before completing the forms.
  • Fill out the blanks in the documents with the required information.
  • Check your answers and sign the papers. Note that you must notarize some of the forms.

If the district clerk finds any errors in the forms or some papers missing, they might reject the filed case, and the petitioner will have to repeat the filing later.

If you’re not entirely sure that you’ll fill out the papers correctly on the first try or don’t want to waste your time, Divorce.com is a perfect solution for you. This service is a middle ground between preparing the paperwork yourself (DIY divorce) and hiring a lawyer.

With Divorce.com, you’ll get your divorce paperwork in only two business days at a very reasonable price. In addition, you won’t need to become an expert in state laws, since our system will automatically choose the documents for your case.

Filing for
Divorce in
Nevada

Steps to Consider

Residency Requirements

Meeting the residency requirements is one of Nevada’s main conditions for getting a divorce decree. It will grant the courts jurisdiction over the spouses, their property, children-related issues, and other matters.

One or both spouses must be a Nevada resident and have lived there for six weeks before starting the divorce action.

The judge will require proof of residency from a witness who lives in Nevada. This person must sign an Affidavit of Resident Witness, confirming that the petitioner or respondent meets residency requirements.

Grounds for Divorce

Nevada law provides several grounds for divorce, i.e., reasons the couple is ending their marriage. These are purely no-fault grounds:

  • incompatibility
  • insanity for two years before filing for divorce
  • separation without cohabitation for one year

If the reason for dissolution is insanity, the judge will need evidence. Additionally, the court will require the filing spouse to support the mentally incapacitated ex-spouse.

The judge may only consider fault-based grounds, such as adultery or abandonment, while determining alimony, child custody, etc.

Initial Filing

A filing party must collect and file specific papers to open a divorce case. They include a Complaint for Divorce (or a Joint Petition for summary dissolution), Civil Cover Sheet, Summons, and an Affidavit of Resident Witness.

The petitioner must also make two copies of the original papers for personal use and service process.

The appropriate venue to file these papers is a courthouse in a county where either spouse lives or the county where the reason for divorce occurred.

Filing Fees

When the papers are ready, a petitioner should take them to the district court and pay a filing fee. The amount of the filing fee differs from county to county. For example, the district courts in Clark county charge $300.

If a person cannot afford this payment (e.g., they receive public assistance or have a low income), they can ask a judge for a fee waiver by filing an Application and Order to Waive the Filing Fee.

Serving the Respondent

The filing party must notify the other spouse about the start of divorce proceedings by sending them copies of the filed papers which should include a Divorce Complaint, Summons, or Joint Preliminary Injunction.

A petitioner has four months (120 days) to serve the other spouse, or the case will be dismissed. This service is performed by a third party not involved in the case. For example, it may be a sheriff or a private process server.

Waiting Period

Nevada has no waiting period for couples who file jointly. However, if the petitioner filed separately, they must wait 21 days for the other party to respond. The petitioner may file a Default form if the other party hasn’t filed a response.

If the other party filed response papers, the spouses must wait until the court date, which can be set in the following 90 days. The parties will receive a notice from the court with the hearing date.

Finalizing a Divorce Case

The couples filing a Joint Petition must submit several final papers to the judge. They are three copies of the Joint Petition, one copy of other filed documents, and the original Decree of Divorce with two copies.

If the papers are completed correctly, the judge will review the proposed settlement agreement and issue a final judgment, by signing the Decree. The spouses will obtain this form by email and must file it with the court.

What Clients Say About Us

Stars

Divorce.com saved me tons of money and time. I got my papers in a few days, just as they promised. And the filing went okay, so I’m glad I found this service.

Liam R.

Stars

The process consists of answering a list of online questions which I had no problems completing. Afterward, I waited for a couple of days and downloaded my forms. Thanks for your help!

Amelia M.

Stars

Initially, I wanted to handle the paperwork alone, but it didn’t go well. So I came to Divorce.com to let them help me draft my divorce forms. The filing process was a success.

Lucas H.

Stars

My experience with Divorce.com was positive. It’s an affordable alternative to get all the forms you need in a few days. I imagine I would have paid much more if I hired an attorney for the same job.

Mia P.

Prev slideNext slide
1/
Uncontested divorce 
in Nevada

Uncontested Divorce in Nevada

Divorce is not always a highly contentious process. For example, if the spouses agree on critical separation points, such as child custody, property division, or alimony, they can file for an uncontested divorce.

Amicable cases are usually cheaper and less stressful than traditional court battles. Most of the time, couples don’t even need a lawyer and can independently represent their case before a judge.

One of the essential duties of a couple with an amicable divorce is completing the court papers. These papers contain the negotiated divorce terms that spouses must obey, after the judge adds them to the final judgment.

Spouses should discuss:

  • How to divide property (assets, debts, real estate, etc.)
  • The custody arrangements
  • Financial support

Divorce.com can simplify the preparation of divorce paperwork and lower divorce expenses. Our service will draft all the papers required in a family court and have them to you in only two days.

Child custody

Getting a Divorce with Children in Nevada

Child custody

Couples with underage children need to make a mutual parenting plan and incorporate it with the final decree. If the spouses can’t split the child custody, the judge will decide this issue for them at the court hearing.

Nevada family law allows the parents to choose from these types of custody:

  • Joint legal custody. Both parents have decision-making authority regarding their children.
  • Sole legal custody. Only a custodial parent can decide what is best for their kids regarding education, healthcare, etc.
  • Joint physical custody. The kids live with each parent in turns.
  • Sole physical custody. The child lives with a primary custodian, and another parent has visitation rights.

If both parties agree to mediate the child custody issues, they need to hire a divorce mediator. The results of their negotiations should be included in the agreement.

Nevada judges will consider the following factors when determining the custody type:

  • the child’s wishes, if they’re of sufficient age
  • the parents’ willingness and abilities to facilitate the child’s frequent contact with another parent
  • the conflicts between the parents
  • each party’s mental and physical health
  • child’s developmental and physical needs
  • the history of domestic violence and abduction, etc.
Child Support

Child Support

The parents of the minor children must support them financially after divorce. The payments should include basic child-related expenses and health insurance. The court may also order parents to use some parts of separate property for providing this support.

Child payments are calculated using a Flat Percentage of Income Model. It takes the paying parent’s monthly income and determines support, according to the number of children.

For example, 18% of income goes for one child, 25% for two kids, and so on. In addition, the state provides maximum and minimal support, depending on the parent’s income. The minimal amount of support is $100 for one child per month.

Divorce Without a Lawyer in Nevada

Divorce Without
a Lawyer
in Nevada

Every couple can file for divorce without a lawyer and represent their case before a judge. Typically, this option is popular with spouses who want to divorce amicably and prepare a Joint Petition.

Proceeding without a lawyer significantly decreases divorce costs and reduces stress levels caused by court trials. So this DIY option is a simple and affordable alternative to litigation when the couple has resolved all disputes, such as property division and child custody.

Drafting legal paperwork is the only obstacle when a person prepares for divorce independently. First, a person must find the blank forms that fit their case. Then, they need to fill out the papers without mistakes. Keep in mind that if something isn’t completed correctly, the district clerk won’t accept the filing.

Luckily for spouses with amicable divorces, there is a simple and inexpensive solution to get the paperwork online with Divorce.com. This platform will generate the complete packet of court-required papers for every situation. Plus, the process is simple and will only take two business days.

With Divorce.com, you’ll receive state-specific divorce papers quickly and inexpensively.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long will it take to get divorced in Nevada?

Couples without unresolved disputes get divorced in one to one and a half months on average. Conversely, contested cases take three months or longer.

Can I get a free divorce in Nevada?

If you cannot afford to pay court fees, you can request a fee waiver by filing an Application to Waive Filing Fee and Order to Waive Filing Fee. The other spouse must file the same papers.

How do I file for divorce in Nevada?

A filing spouse must collect the legal papers and file them with the district court. The proper venue is the county where either spouse lives, the couple lived together, or where the cause of divorce occurred.

How much does a divorce cost in Nevada?

The median cost of a contested divorce in Nevada is $10,000. Amicable cases are less expensive (typically around $2,000). If you wish to save money on your divorce, choose Divorce.com and pay only for the ready-to-file paperwork.