Start your divorce online in Oregon

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM

Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Your satisfaction is 100% guaranteed.
$299
Let’s confirm you qualify
Not in Oregon? Find your state By clicking "Let’s get started" you agree to the Terms of Service

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Our online divorce solution launched the industry
SaveYou can save thousands over the typical divorce process
OverMore than 22 years and over 800,000 customers served
No one-size-fits-all plan— you choose the tools you need
Benefits of 
an online divorce

Benefits of an online divorce

Why Choose Divorce.com?

Divorce.com is an easy-to-use service designed to help couples prepare for their uncontested divorce. They can get the legal paperwork without paying thousands of dollars to an expensive lawyer and, thus, will save time and money in the process.

Divorce.com has all the court-required forms for every case and will select the correct ones, according to each client’s circumstances. Getting the paperwork includes the following steps:

  • Answer the online questionnaire whenever is convenient. You can pause anytime and come back later to complete it and make changes.
  • Check the information you provided and correct any errors.
  • Submit your answers for processing.
  • Download your papers in just two business days. The documents will be prepared in a PDF format, so you only need to print and sign them.

The service is available for all devices with an internet connection.

Oregon divorce forms

Oregon Divorce Forms

The primary step of any marriage dissolution is to collect and file the appropriate legal forms with the local court. Some blank forms may be found on the state judiciary websites and self-help resources.

The basic forms to initiate a divorce in Oregon are:

  • Petition for Dissolution of Marriage/RDP
  • Summons for Family Law Case
  • Record of Dissolution of Marriage, Annulment, or Registered Domestic Partnership
  • Confidential Information Form (CIF)
  • Notice of CIF Filing
  • Certificate of Residency (UTCR 8.010.1)
  • Notice of Statutory Restraining Order Preventing Dissipation of Assets
  • Fee Deferral or Waiver Application and Declaration
  • Acceptance of Service
  • Certificate of Service
  • Child Support Computation Worksheets
  • Motion and Order to Waive 90-day Waiting Period
  • Ex Parte Motion for Order of Default and Declaration in Support
  • Declaration in Support of Judgment
  • General Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage/RDP

The couples may not need all the forms from the list above. For example, they don’t need to file Child Support Computation Worksheets if they don’t have children. Similarly, the Order of Default is unnecessary if the spouses get divorced by agreement.

Divorce forms preparation

Divorce forms preparation

How to Fill Out Divorce Forms in Oregon

Collecting the court-required forms is only the first step to starting divorce proceedings. All the papers must also be filled out with the correct information.

Filling out the forms may be somewhat challenging for people who see them for the first time. Thus, there are a few important rules to stick to:

  • Look through the papers to identify what information you need to obtain.
  • Use dictionaries and Oregon Revised Statutes to clarify unknown terminology.
  • Collect essential documents (marriage license, ID, etc.) and personal and financial data to fill out the papers.
  • Discuss the dissolution terms with your wife or husband and complete the documents accordingly.
  • Check for mistakes and fix them before submitting your forms to the court.

Finally, remember to notarize the papers that require it. It means that you need to sign them in front of a notary public.

Completing the forms correctly from the first try is a rare occasion. So, if you don’t want to spend hours of your time on the paperwork, use Divorce.com to help you. This service will draft all the necessary forms for your divorce in just two business days.

All you need is to check your eligibility and answer several questions about your divorce. After that, you will receive the completed paperwork and filing guide with explanations on how to file the papers with the local court.

Filing for
Divorce in
Oregon

Steps to Consider

Residency Requirements

Any couple who wants to divorce in Oregon has to meet the residency requirements. It usually means they must live in the state for a set period to get a divorce decree.

The Oregon courts will have jurisdiction over the marriage dissolution case if one or both spouses have lived within the state's territory for six months before filing for divorce.

The venue for the action (a place to file the paperwork and attend divorce hearings) is a court in the county where either spouse lives.

Grounds for Divorce

Spouses filing for divorce must state why they want to end their marriage. The legal term for it is “grounds.” Oregon mainly uses no-fault grounds, meaning no one is to blame. This no-fault reason is called irreconcilable differences, which has led to the breakdown of a marriage.

In addition to the above cause, a marriage can be annulled or dissolved if:

  • a person was forced or tricked into marriage
  • one spouse lacked sufficient understanding or was underage
Initial Filing

A petitioner (filing spouse) has to collect and complete the initial papers and bring them to the circuit court located in the county where the respondent or the petitioner resides. The original documents include a Petition for Dissolution, Summons, and Confidential Information Form.

Some forms, such as the Petition, must be notarized before filing them with the clerk. Notarizing means to sign the papers in front of a notary public and obtain their signature. A petitioner should also make several copies for their own records and one copy to give to the other spouse.

Filing Fees

A petitioner must pay a filing fee when submitting the papers to the court. In Oregon, the amount of payment is approximately $300. Therefore, a person should check the fee schedule by phone or online before going to the courthouse.

A person who cannot afford to cover the court fees may request a fee waiver or a deferral. To ask a judge for a fee waiver, a petitioner must file an Application for Deferral or Waiver of Fees and Declaration in Support.

Serving the Respondent

Serving means delivering the copies of all papers to the other spouse (respondent). If they agree to receive the service, they can sign the Acceptance of Service form and return it to the petitioner.

If the divorce is contested, the petitioner must serve the other party in one of the following ways:

  • hire the sheriff
  • hire a private process server
  • ask a third party aged 18 or older who isn’t involved in the case
  • by mail
  • by publication
Waiting Period

Oregon has a waiting period for spouses to schedule their court hearings. Firstly, the respondent has 30 days to file their answer. In addition, the couple must wait 90 days from the service of summons (or publication). However, the spouses can waive this waiting period if:

  • one of the parties files a motion with a supporting affidavit, explaining the necessity of early dissolution
  • the parties filed jointly as co-petitioners, and the respondent waived their appearance or is in default
Finalizing a Divorce Case

The judge must issue and sign the final judgment. If the parties agree on the terms, they can fill out and file two forms: the Declaration in Support of Judgment and the General Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage.

The couples who cannot resolve disputes outside the court will go through court trials where a judge will resolve all the divorce issues regarding evidence and statements from the parties and witnesses.

The dissolution is effective when the judge signs the Judgment.

What Clients Say About Us

Stars

I can’t thank Divorce.com enough for the promptness and quality job that they did with my paperwork. I saved lots of money with this platform. Plus, the entire process of preparing the paperwork was very relaxing and fast.

Melissa N.

Stars

I tried collecting the paperwork independently without a lawyer. But it turned out to be pretty challenging. So then, I registered with Divorce.com and ordered the papers there. I loved the ease and low cost of their service and can recommend Divorce.com to everyone with an amicable divorce.

Joan L.

Stars

The biggest advantage was that I could work on my paperwork from my apartment, since I have no idea where to get the right forms. So, I answered a few questions and got my paperwork two days later.

Harvey P.

Stars

Divorce.com is overall a great service, compared to others. I got my papers quickly and affordably and didn’t need to pay expensive lawyers’ fees.

Ryan S.

Prev slideNext slide
1/
Uncontested divorce 
in Oregon

Uncontested Divorce in Oregon

An uncontested divorce in Oregon means that both parties agree on divorce terms, including child custody and support, property division, and alimony. Usually, the spouses will divorce peacefully and resolve their disputes outside the courthouse.

Uncontested divorces have many advantages. Lower stress levels and costs are only a few of them. Another benefit is that the spouses control the outcome since they negotiate the terms beforehand and don’t leave the significant decisions to the court judges.

The primary document where the couple indicates the divorce terms is a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. It should include the provisions on:

  • property division, including distribution of debts, assets, and real estate
  • child custody and support
  • spousal support and insurance

Divorce.com can make these uncomplicated steps for you and take care of the paperwork. In addition, you won’t have to worry about high divorce expenses since the service excludes the need to hire a costly divorce lawyer.

Child custody

Getting a Divorce with Children in Oregon

Child custody

Spouses with minor children must decide how to split custody in a parenting plan by themselves or by consulting a divorce mediator.

The available types of custody are:

  • Sole physical custody (children live in the custodial parent’s house and see the non-custodial parent, according to the court-approved visitation schedule).
  • Sole legal custody (only a custodial parent can make decisions regarding their children).
  • Joint physical custody (children live with each parent for an equal amount of time).
  • Joint legal custody (two parents are involved in making decisions about the kids’ wellbeing).

If the spouses cannot agree on child custody, the judges will determine it instead, without regard to the parent’s gender (both men and women can be awarded primary custody). They will consider the children’s best interests and their safety. The following factors may also influence the final court orders:

  • the ties between the family members and the child
  • the parents’ interest in raising the child
  • history of abuse
  • the readiness of each parent to facilitate frequent contact between the child and the other parent

Oregon courts also require parents to complete educational courses to learn about the effects of divorce on kids and how to minimize the impact it can have on them.

Child Support

Child Support

Oregon courts calculate a child support amount using the Income Shares Model. It is based on the net income of both parents and the number of children.

Support should include basic living, food, and educational costs. It also must cover uninsured medical expenses and health insurance.

The factors that might influence the support:

  • Each parent’s income, property, and earnings
  • Employment potential
  • The needs of each party
  • Child’s physical, emotional and educational needs
  • Support orders that are already in place
  • The amount of assistance under the state’s IV-A plan

Financial support ends when a child becomes emancipated, self-supporting, or turns 18 and graduates from high school. The family court may request a report regarding the use of money from child support payments.

Divorce Without a Lawyer in Oregon

Divorce Without
a Lawyer
in Oregon

Getting a divorce without a lawyer is a real opportunity to save thousands of dollars. For instance, Oregon lawyers charge $250 per hour and can make approximately $10,000 on a single divorce case.

When the couples represent their case without an attorney, they will only need to pay the court fees and cover additional costs, such as a parenting class, property evaluation, etc.

The main complications that the spouses may face are the divorce paperwork and following the rules of civil procedure. While they can learn the latter from the official documents, the paperwork might become a problem.

Fortunately, you always have Divorce.com to assist you in preparing legal papers for your marriage dissolution. This service automatically selects and fills out the court-required forms according to each client’s situation.

The process is fast and affordable and doesn’t require any specific knowledge of the legal system. A few steps you’ll need to take are checking your eligibility for using the service and answering several questions. Your divorce packet and filing instructions will be ready two business days later.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long will it take to get divorced in Oregon?

An Oregon divorce takes 6 to 12 months on average. However, uncontested divorces are shorter in time and can be finalized in three months.

Can I get a free divorce in Oregon?

You can file a request asking a judge to cancel the filing fees. The appropriate form you should file is a Fee Deferral or Waiver Application and Declaration.

How do I file for divorce in Oregon?

A person filing for divorce (a petitioner) must prepare and file the Petition for Dissolution, Summons, and Confidential Information form with the court in the county where either spouse lives.

How much does a divorce cost in Oregon?

A contested divorce in Oregon costs, on average, $13,000. However, the spouses can reduce the price if they agree to have an uncontested divorce and prepare their papers with Divorce.com. The cost, in this case, will only include the paperwork preparation plus court fees.