Start your divorce online in Colorado

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM

Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Your satisfaction is 100% guaranteed.
$299
Let’s confirm you qualify
Not in Colorado? Find your state By clicking "Let’s get started" you agree to the Terms of Service

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Our online divorce solution launched the industry
SaveYou can save thousands over the typical divorce process
OverMore than 22 years and over 800,000 customers served
No one-size-fits-all plan— you choose the tools you need
Benefits of 
an online divorce

Benefits of an online divorce

Why Choose Divorce.com?

Divorce.com is an excellent choice to prepare paperwork for an uncontested divorce without hiring expensive lawyers. The platform is an alternative to the DIY divorce, comprising the low cost and the convenience of getting the complete packet of legal papers online.

All the forms at Divorce.com comply with the state standards and local court rules. In addition, the papers are customized to each client’s circumstances, for example, whether or not there is the presence of minor children in the marriage.

With Divorce.com, you can:

  • Access the online questionnaire at any time and save your progress for later.
  • Change your answers or correct the information you provided earlier, without limitations, before submitting them.
  • Download the documents in a PDF format that will be ready in two business days. Then, print and sign them before going to the district clerk.

Divorce.com is an easy way to get inexpensive and quality divorce papers!

Colorado divorce forms

Colorado Divorce Forms

Filing for divorce starts with collecting state-specific legal forms. Some can be found on the Colorado Judicial Branch website or in libraries.

The basic forms to file for Colorado divorce are as follows:

  • Petition for Dissolution or Legal Separation (Marriage) - Form JDF 1101
  • Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit - Form JDF 205
  • Summons - Form JDF 1102
  • Case Information Sheet - Form JDF 1000
  • Waiver and Acceptance of Service - Form JDF 1102(a)
  • Return of Service - Form JDF 1102(b)
  • Response to the Petition - Form JDF 1103
  • Certificate of Compliance with Mandatory Financial Disclosures - Form JDF 1104
  • Sworn Financial Statement - Form JDF 1111
  • Parenting Plan - Form JDF 1113
  • Separation Agreement - Form JDF 1115
  • Decree of Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation - Form JDF 1116
  • Notice to Set Hearing - Form JDF 1123
  • Notice of Hearing - Form JDF 1124

This list may vary depending on specific circumstances. For example, if the spouses don’t have minor children, they don’t need to file a Parenting Plan.

Divorce forms preparation

Divorce forms preparation

How to Fill Out Divorce Forms in Colorado

The next step after collecting the blank divorce forms is filling them out. It can be tricky to complete each document correctly on the first try, so here are a few tips to follow:

  • Read each form carefully, and don’t rush to answer the questions just yet.
  • Consult dictionaries and Colorado Revised Statutes for any unknown terminology.
  • Prepare important information, such as social security numbers, addresses, and employer’s contacts for each spouse.
  • Talk to a husband or wife and clarify the terms of the separation.
  • Answer the questions and provide all the required data.
  • Review the answers and correct any errors.

Some papers might require notarization. It means that a petitioner needs to sign them before a notary public. In addition, if the paperwork contains mistakes, the court clerk may not accept them.

If you’re unsure that you can prepare the papers yourself, Divorce.com can help you with this task. By using our service, you can get all the court forms for your uncontested divorce without hiring a divorce lawyer and paying thousands of dollars in legal fees.

Divorce.com will generate and fill out each form you need to start the divorce process in Colorado. The process is quick and only takes two business days. In addition to the paperwork, each client will receive step-by-step filing instructions.

Filing for
Divorce in
Colorado

Steps to Consider

Residency Requirements

Couples who want to file for divorce in Colorado must ensure they meet the residency requirements, or else Colorado courts won’t have jurisdiction to enter the final decree.

Under the state laws, at least one spouse must be a resident of Colorado and have lived there for 90 or more days.

The law also requires the couple’s minor children to have lived within the state limits for 182 days or since birth in order to address the child-related issues.

Grounds for Divorce

Colorado is a purely no-fault state, meaning the spouses can’t use fault grounds for divorce. It’s called an irretrievable breakdown of the marriage.

Both spouses must state under oath that their marriage is irretrievably broken for the court to presume it is true. Another option is for one party to state it and the other to not deny it.

However, if one spouse is against divorce, the judge may suggest the couple seek counseling and reschedule the hearing.

Initial Filing

The courts responsible for handling divorce in Colorado are District Courts. The venue for divorce should be the court in the county where the respondent resides.

The petitioner must collect and complete the necessary legal forms and file the original papers and copies with the district clerk’s office. The initial documents include the Petition for Dissolution, Case Information Sheet, and Summons.

Both parties must sign the Petition if they file together. Otherwise, only a filing spouse and their attorney need to sign this form.

Filing Fees

The filing fee to start divorce proceedings in Colorado is $230. A petitioner must pay this sum when submitting the paperwork to the district court. The response papers also have a fee of $116.

If a person cannot afford to cover the fee, they can request a fee waiver by filing:

  • the JDF 205 form, which is a motion to proceed without payment,
  • the JDF 206 form (a blank Order),
  • financial proof of indigency, e.g., pay stubs, bank statements, etc.
Serving the Respondent

If the parties did not file as co-petitioners, the filing spouse must notify the other party about the divorce.

The service means bringing the copies of all papers to the other party and obtaining their signature as the acknowledgment of service.

The options to serve the respondent are the following:

  • the respondent signs the Waiver and Acceptance of Service form
  • a sheriff or a private process server takes the papers to the respondent
  • by mail or publication after the court approval
Waiting Period

When the other party has been served with the divorce papers, the couple must wait 91 days before they can get a final decree. If the spouses file for dissolution together, the waiting period begins when they file the Petition.

The parties might have to attend the Initial Status Conference, which is usually scheduled 42 days after the initial filing.

The court may also require the spouses to complete the parenting program, which can extend the time needed for divorce.

Finalizing a Divorce Case

The spouses pursuing an uncontested divorce usually need to attend a short hearing where the judge will review the submitted papers, such as the settlement agreement with provisions on assets and debts division, child custody, support, etc.

A copy of the final decree will be mailed to the petitioner after the hearing. For this reason, they should provide the court with a self-addressed stamped envelope. If the spouses filed their case using the e-filing system, the envelopes might not be required.

What Clients Say About Us

Stars

I’m glad I found this low-cost option to prepare the paperwork for my divorce. It took me a day to answer all the questions and two additional days to get the packet of divorce forms. Thanks to everybody involved!

Bella B.

Stars

The services are reasonably priced. I saved several hundred dollars, if not more, by getting my divorce paperwork from Divorce.com. So I can say that it’s a great way to save money and get quality documents.

Toby G.

Stars

I had a positive experience working with Divorce.com. My papers were ready in a few days, and I filed them immediately. Everything went well.

Lea S.

Stars

I enjoyed a very smooth and fast process. The website was also simple, so I had no trouble getting my divorce paperwork done.

Owen L.

Prev slideNext slide
1/
Uncontested divorce 
in Colorado

Uncontested Divorce in Colorado

An uncontested, or amicable, divorce means both parties agree to resolve their disputes and negotiate the divorce terms outside the courthouse. This method saves money and time because the couple doesn’t go through lengthy court trials and typically needs to attend only a few hearings to get a divorce decree.

The spouses must file a settlement agreement together with the other court-required forms. This document should include the following provisions:

  • child custody arrangements and visitation schedule
  • the amount of child support and alimony
  • property division terms

An uncontested divorce is a popular option to end a marriage because it’s less stressful and more private than traditional litigation. If spouses seeking an uncontested divorce decide to get help with divorce paperwork, they can use Divorce.com. Our platform will prepare customized divorce papers fast and inexpensively.

Child custody

Getting a Divorce with Children in Colorado

Child custody

Couples with minor children can only get a final judgment after allocating child custody rights and responsibilities. Colorado family law distinguishes several types of custody:

  • Sole physical custody. The child’s permanent residence is with the primary custodial parent.
  • Joint physical custody. The child lives with each parent according to a schedule fixed in the parenting plan.
  • Sole legal custody. Only one parent can make child-related decisions.
  • Joint legal custody. Both parents have a say in their child’s education, religion, recreation, etc.

Sole physical custody doesn’t mean the non-custodial parent can’t see their child. Instead, they will be awarded the visitation time unless the family court finds evidence of domestic violence or neglect. In this case, the judge can implement court orders to limit parenting activities, such as overnights and unsupervised visits.

Each parent can submit a parenting plan for the court’s approval. However, if the judge doesn’t approve the proposed plan, they will formulate a parenting plan independently. For this reason, the parents are usually advised to see a divorce mediator and address parenting issues before the court hearing.

A district court might order the spouses to attend parenting educational courses to understand the impact of divorce on children and learn co-parenting skills.

Child Support

Child Support

Child support is a periodic (monthly, weekly, etc.) payment to provide for the child’s needs, including medical and education costs. The exact amount is calculated based on the Income Shares Model, where the parents pay a share of total child support in proportion to their adjusted gross income.

The judges may also consider some of the following factors:

  • The financial situation and resources of each party and the child;
  • The standard of living during the marriage;
  • The child’s physical and mental health;
  • The child’s needs, etc.

Child support payment usually ends when the dependent children turn 19. However, if the children continue their education in high school, support shall remain ongoing until they graduate, drop out, or turn 21. Support payments will also be extended if the child has disabilities.

Divorce Without a Lawyer in Colorado

Divorce Without
a Lawyer
in Colorado

Divorce without a lawyer can decrease divorce expenses by tens of thousands of dollars since the median hourly fees of Colorado lawyers are $250-$300. Thus, the more hours a lawyer spends on divorce, the higher the overall cost.

The price tag can be sky-high for some people. That’s why they choose to represent their case without legal help, but this option is not suitable for everyone. Couples with a lot of disputes hire attorneys to fight for their interests.

But the spouses with uncontested divorces typically only need to negotiate the terms and file the mutual settlement agreement along with other divorce documents with the court.

One way to get the paperwork done quickly and painlessly is to use Divorce.com. Our platform is easy and convenient to work with any time, anywhere.

You’ll only need to answer a list of questions about your divorce and wait for two business days to download your completed papers. You’ll also get a detailed filing guide with instructions on how to start your divorce case.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long will it take to get divorced in Colorado?

Regarding the mandatory waiting period, the couple can get a final decree no sooner than 91 days after filing for divorce. However, a contested divorce will take 6 to 12 months on average.

Can I get a free divorce in Colorado?

Spouses who can’t afford to pay the filing fees can ask the judge to waive them by submitting the JDF 205 Form. It has a request to waive the fees plus supporting financial information.

How do I file for divorce in Colorado?

Initial steps include filing the Petition for Dissolution, Case Information Sheet, and Summons with the court in the county where the defendant lives.

How much does a divorce cost in Colorado?

A typical divorce in Colorado costs $9,000-$11,000. But if divorce is amicable, the spouses can reduce the costs by using Divorce.com services and pay only for the paperwork preparation.