Start your divorce online in Kentucky

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM

Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Your satisfaction is 100% guaranteed.
$299
Let’s confirm you qualify
Not in Kentucky? Find your state By clicking "Let’s get started" you agree to the Terms of Service

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Our online divorce solution launched the industry
SaveYou can save thousands over the typical divorce process
OverMore than 22 years and over 800,000 customers served
No one-size-fits-all plan— you choose the tools you need
Benefits of 
an online divorce

Benefits of an online divorce

Why Choose Divorce.com?

Divorce.com offers timely and inexpensive support in preparing the court-required papers to start an uncontested divorce. This user-friendly platform allows couples to get the paperwork done without hiring an expensive divorce lawyer and thus, save thousands of dollars.

Divorce.com has an extensive database with every form the spouses might need for their specific circumstances. In addition, there is no need to have any legal background to use the service since the system automatically generates all the necessary papers with the client’s information.

The process consists of several steps:

  • Answering the online interview: the answers will be used to complete the forms.
  • Submitting the answers: you can make unlimited corrections before pressing the submit button.
  • Download the papers in a PDF format, print them, and use the instructions to file them.

Divorce.com will make divorce much easier!

Kentucky divorce forms

Kentucky Divorce Forms

The divorcing couples will need to collect legal papers to start divorce proceedings. The basic forms in Kentucky are the following:

  • Petition for Dissolution of Marriage (Form 4A and 4B)
  • Civil Case Cover Sheet (Form AOC-104)
  • Motion for Waiver of Costs and Fees and to Proceed In Forma Pauperis (Form 1)
  • Case Data Information Sheet (Form AOC-FC-3)
  • Civil Summons (Form AOC-105)
  • Certificate of Divorce or Annulment (Form VS-300)
  • Verified Disclosure Statement (Form AOC-238.1 or AOC-239.1)
  • Entry of Appearance and Waiver (Form 6)
  • Marital Settlement Agreement (Form 7)
  • Affidavit of No Change in Circumstances Requiring the Filing of a Final Verified Disclosure Statement (Form AOC- 239.2)
  • Acknowledgment of (Preliminary or Final) Verified Disclosure Statement (Form AOC 238.3 or AOC-239.3)
  • Deposition of Petitioner (Form 9)
  • Finding of Facts and Decree of Dissolution of Marriage (Form 10)
  • Motion for Final Decree (Form 11)

Not all of these forms should be filed at once. For instance, the Affidavit of no Change in Circumstances and Decree of Dissolution must be filed one day after submitting the Petition and other initial documents.

Divorce forms preparation

Divorce forms preparation

How to Fill Out Divorce Forms in Kentucky

Couples who decide to proceed with a DIY method for divorce must fill out the blank forms themselves. Below are some tips to make this task easier:

  • Read all information in the form carefully.
  • Look up unfamiliar legal terms in the dictionary or research Kentucky Revised Statutes.
  • Collect important information, such as date of marriage and separation, employer’s name and gross income, etc.
  • Ensure that both spouses agree with all of the terms they want to put into writing.
  • Fill out the forms with the required information.
  • Proofread the papers once again and ensure there are no typos or errors.
  • Sign the documents and bring them to the court. Note that some of the forms require notarization.

Filling out the forms may be overwhelming and take many days to finish for someone without a legal background. However, those who prefer to spend time more efficiently can use Divorce.com and obtain the paperwork without a hassle.

This online service offers quick and affordable help in selecting and completing all of the necessary documentation for an uncontested divorce. The process is simple and will only require answering several questions concerning divorce terms.

Two business days after finishing the questionnaire, you’ll receive the packet of papers and a step-by-step filing guide to get your case started. With Divorce.com, filing for divorce is no longer an obstacle to a happier life.

Filing for
Divorce in
Kentucky

Steps to Consider

Residency Requirements

The courts can only have jurisdiction over a divorce case if the spouses meet the state residency requirements.

According to Kentucky Revised Statutes, couples can file for divorce or separation if at least one spouse has lived in Kentucky for 180 days before the filing.

The same requirement applies to military personnel. If one spouse is a service member, they must have been stationed in Kentucky for 180 days.

Grounds for Divorce

Kentucky law provides only one no-fault ground for divorce - that is an irretrievable breakdown of the marriage. If both parties agree their marriage is beyond repair, the court will confirm it after the preliminary hearing.

If one party denies the no-fault grounds, the court will consider all the relevant factors and the possibility of reconciliation.

If the judge has doubts whether the marriage is indeed irretrievably broken, they might refer the spouses for counseling and set a subsequent hearing in 30 to 60 days.

Initial Filing

Divorces are usually handled by a Family Court, which is a subdivision of a Circuit Court. The case is filed in the county where the husband or wife resides.

So to start a marriage dissolution, a person must bring the initial papers to one of the family courts in the proper venue.

The initial forms include a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage and the Certificate of Divorce. Additionally, a petitioner should make two copies and file them along with the original papers.

Filing Fees

When petitioners file for divorce in a chosen courthouse, they must pay a filing fee. The amount varies between the counties from $100 to $250.

If a person cannot afford to cover the filing fees, they can ask for a waiver by submitting:

  • a form for waiver of costs and fees
  • financial proof of their inability to pay the court fees

A judge will review the request and decide whether or not to waive the fees.

Serving the Respondent

Once the Petition has been filed, the petitioner must “serve” the respondent with copies of the papers. They can do it in one of the following ways:

  • give copies to the other party, if it’s an amicable divorce, and have them sign the Entry of Appearance and the Settlement Agreement as the acknowledgment of service;
  • send the Summons by certified mail from the courthouse;
  • ask a Sheriff to serve the Summons (additional fees may apply).
Waiting Period

A total of 60 days must pass since the service of Summons or filing the Entry of Appearance before a couple can get a divorce decree. In addition, the spouses might need to attend parenting courses for families with children affected by divorce.

However, if the couple doesn’t have children, they can count the sixty-day waiting period from the day they started living “without sexual cohabitation.” It means that the spouses can live under the same roof but restrain from sexual contact.

Finalizing a Divorce Case

After the waiting period of 60 days, the couple must ask the court to schedule a final hearing and file a Deposition of Petitioner, a Motion for Final Decree, Finding of Fact and Decree of Dissolution of Marriage, plus some other forms.

During the court hearing, a judge will ask several questions about the settlement agreement and issue a final judgment if everything is in order.

After the hearing, a petitioner will receive a copy of the decree signed by the judge.

What Clients Say About Us

Stars

I loved the ease of the entire process and the small price compared to our city’s lawyer fees. After I answered the questions, the company took care of the paperwork, which came in two days.

Charlotte W.

Stars

Great service, fast, and efficient. They send you the papers for uncontested divorce and filing instructions, which are very helpful. And the price is great.

James C.

Stars

I filed for divorce with the paperwork I got from Divorce.com, and everything went well. If only all issues in my life could be solved as trouble-free as this. Thank you to Divorce.com for help!

Anna B.

Stars

It’s the best place if you need divorce papers and have no spare time to dig into details. Plus, it’s cheap and fully online. I’m pleased with the service and can recommend it to others.

Hugo S.

Prev slideNext slide
1/
Uncontested divorce 
in Kentucky

Uncontested Divorce in Kentucky

An uncontested divorce is a relatively peaceful and cheap way to end a marriage. It means that both parties agree to resolve disputes outside the courthouse. They should also discuss property division, child custody and financial support, alimony, and other issues.

Kentucky couples who wish to proceed with an amicable divorce must conclude a mutual settlement agreement before attending the final hearing.

The agreement should comply with these requirements:

  • child-related issues should be resolved with their best interests in mind
  • property, such as assets, debts, and real estate, must be divided equitably
  • child support payments should be calculated using the state guidelines

One way to save money on an uncontested divorce is to prepare legal paperwork with Divorce.com. This platform will generate all the paperwork for a much lower price than any lawyer will charge.

Child custody

Getting a Divorce with Children in Kentucky

Child custody

Before the family court can grant a divorce, a couple or a judge must make child custody arrangements. If the spouses proceed with an amicable divorce, they can add all the terms regarding children into a parenting plan.

Kentucky family law provides the following options for child custody:

  • Joint legal custody. It means both parents have equal rights in deciding their child’s health, education, and upbringing.
  • Sole legal custody. Only one parent decides what’s best for the child.
  • Joint physical custody. The child stays in each parent’s home for an equal amount of time.
  • Sole physical custody. The child lives with one parent and meets the other on visitation days.

Kentucky judges do not prefer one parent to the other on the grounds of their gender when deciding who should be a primary custodial parent. Both men and women can get sole guardianship. The courts often order joint custody to ensure the kids communicate with both parents.

Other factors that influence the court decisions are:

  • the child’s and parents’ reasonable wishes;
  • the history of domestic violence;
  • the mental and physical health of all parties;
  • the child’s relationship with each parent and siblings, etc.
Child Support

Child Support

Child support is a monthly or weekly payment that a parent must pay to support their minor children. This obligation continues until the child becomes of age, marries, joins the armed forces, or emancipates in other ways.

The amount of child support in Kentucky is calculated using the state guidelines based on the Income Shares Model. The minimal monthly amount per child is $60. Child support court orders also include extra expenses, such as medical, educational, etc.

For split custody arrangements, where each parent lives with one or more children and shares legal responsibility for all of them, the financial support is determined as follows:

  • there should be two support obligations prepared for each household;
  • the non-residential parent with greater monthly obligation must pay the difference to the other parent.
Divorce Without a Lawyer in Kentucky

Divorce Without
a Lawyer
in Kentucky

Kentucky state laws allow anyone to get a divorce without a lawyer. This option is very popular with spouses who part amicably. If they decide their issues independently, they will only need to draft the paperwork and attend court hearings.

Excluding lawyers from the equation also allows a divorcing couple to decrease their divorce expenses. The average hourly rates of a typical attorney in Kentucky are $200-$300 and can get higher if they work for a prestigious law firm.

Yet, collecting the paper for an uncontested divorce without help can be tricky. It’s important to find and file the complete packet of documents, or the court clerk won’t accept them.

Getting the divorce forms and filling them out can be much easier if you use Divorce.com. It selects the appropriate documents and uses the client’s data to complete them.

The service is fast and inexpensive and allows you to work on the papers from home. In addition to the court forms, you will receive filing instructions to guide you through the filing process.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long will it take to get divorced in Kentucky?

An uncontested divorce where the couple agrees on all issues will take two to three months. Contested cases can last for 6 to 24 months.

Can I get a free divorce in Kentucky?

If the person initiating divorce cannot afford to cover the court fees, they may request a fee waiver. The formal way to achieve this is to file a Motion for Waiver of Costs and Fees and to Proceed In Forma Pauperis.

How do I file for divorce in Kentucky?

The primary step is to complete a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage and a few other basic forms to the family court in the county where either spouse resides.

How much does a divorce cost in Kentucky?

The cost of divorce in Kentucky starts from $8,000 and increases depending on the lawyers’ hourly rates. But if you use Divorce.com to prepare the legal paperwork, you’ll significantly reduce your divorce expenses.