Start your divorce online in Michigan

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM

Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Your satisfaction is 100% guaranteed.
$299
Let’s confirm you qualify
Not in Michigan? Find your state By clicking "Let’s get started" you agree to the Terms of Service

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Our online divorce solution launched the industry
SaveYou can save thousands over the typical divorce process
OverMore than 22 years and over 800,000 customers served
No one-size-fits-all plan— you choose the tools you need
Benefits of 
an online divorce

Benefits of an online divorce

Why Choose Divorce.com?

Divorce.com helps couples seeking an uncontested divorce prepare their paperwork quickly and effectively. What’s more, it will save you 80-90% compared to the cost of a divorce lawyer.

Using this platform, spouses can select forms that suit their circumstances and complete them as the state requires.

This is done through a special online divorce questionnaire. You don’t have to answer all of the questions at once. If you need to pause, your progress will be saved, and you can continue later.

Within 2 business days, you can download ready-made papers in a PDF format from your account. You only need to print, sign, and file them with the court when you’re ready, using the clear step-by-step filing instructions Divorce.com provides.

Paperwork preparation with Divorce.com is inexpensive, fast, and stress-free!

Michigan divorce forms

Michigan Divorce Forms

To proceed with a divorce, partners need to prepare some legal paperwork. The list of forms may vary, depending on the couple’s case and the county requirements. Typically, it includes the following:

  • Petition (Consent Judgment) CCFD 25 or Petition (Collaborative Law Process) CCFD24
  • Summons MC-01
  • Domestic Violence Screening Form FOC 124
  • Notice of Request to Enter Consent Judgment/Order CCFD 26
  • Friend of the Court Case Questionnaire FOC-39A-D
  • Employer’s Disclosure Of Health Insurance And/or Income Information FOC-22
  • Notice of Hearing FOC-7

In addition, spouses who resolve all of their marriage-related issues out of court must prepare and sign a Marital Settlement Agreement, describing arrangements reached.

If spouses have minor children, they also need to complete:

  • Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Enforcement Act affidavit MC 416
  • Verified Statement FOC 23
  • Judgment Information Form FOC 100

Partners can download blank forms from the Michigan Courts website or get blank paper copies at the local court. However, the easiest way is to use Divorce.com and get completed divorce forms, quickly and in one place.

Divorce forms preparation

Divorce forms preparation

How to Fill Out Divorce Forms in Michigan

Michigan official resources are challenging to navigate, especially for people unfamiliar with legal and judicial affairs. However, if the spouses manage to find suitable papers, they can proceed to the next stage – paperwork preparation.

This stage is no less complicated, but the following tips can help spouses fill out legal forms, with less stress:

  • Read all forms carefully - they may explain what other papers may be needed and contain instructions for completing them.
  • Collect all necessary data and documents (names, dates, locations, insurances, etc.).
  • Learn legal terms to use them correctly and understand the questions.
  • Discuss the forms with the other party to avoid disagreements and proceed with an uncontested divorce.
  • If convenient, fill out the divorce documents together, or at least show the completed version to the second spouse.

It’s critical to double-check the completed forms. Errors, typos, or incorrect data may result in a rejection.

Spouses who value their time and energy choose Divorce.com to fill out divorce papers, hassle-free. You only need about 30-40 minutes to fill out our simple online questionnaire, and then, within a few business days or less, your completed documents will be available in your account. It’s much easier than traditional paperwork.

Filing for
Divorce in
Michigan

Steps to Consider

Residency Requirements

Either partner must have resided in Michigan for 180 days before filing for divorce. Moreover, either spouse must have lived in the county where the case is filed for 10 days before applying.

To bypass the 10-days requirement, all of the following must be true and described in the petition:

  • The respondent was born in or is a citizen of another country
  • The minor child is at risk of being taken out of the USA by the respondent.
Grounds for Divorce

As a no-fault state, Michigan doesn’t require spouses to state or prove any marital misconduct (adultery, abandonment, etc.) as a reason for divorce.

Partners can simply state that “there has been a breakdown of the marriage relationship to the extent that the objects of matrimony have been destroyed, and there remains no reasonable likelihood that the marriage can be preserved.” They should use this legal wording as specified in the law.

Initial Filing

The plaintiff (petitioner) must file an appropriate complaint with the court clerk to legally start a divorce. In Michigan, spouses can file a joint petition if they both want to end the marriage.

The spouses must complete and file other forms, including:

  • Marital Settlement Agreement
  • Proposed Consent Judgment/Order

All the documents must be filed with the circuit court in the county where either spouse meets the 10-days residency requirement. Spouses can also e-file their paperwork, if allowed in their county.

Filing Fees

The filing fee is a mandatory payment for every divorcing couple. In Michigan, it’s about $150. If spouses apply via the e-filing system, they will have to pay an additional $25. Couples with kids must also pay $40 for child support and $80 for custody and parenting time.

Families who can’t afford to pay the filing fee can file a Fee Waiver Request Form MC 20. If the judge approves it, all court fees for the case will be eliminated.

Serving the Respondent

The plaintiff must provide copies of the documents to the other party. They must do it within 91 days after filing, or their divorce case can be dismissed. Spouses filing a joint petition can skip this step.

The server must be at least 18 years old and not a party to the case. It means that the plaintiff can’t serve the respondent personally.

Waiting Period

A mandatory waiting period in Michigan is provided so that the couple can rethink their decision and make sure it’s the right one for them. The duration of the waiting period depends on divorce circumstances.

If there are children, the couple can’t get a divorce earlier than 6 months after filing documents with the court. Couples without children can expect a judge to sign the Final Judgment of Divorce at least 60 days after applying.

Finalizing a Divorce Case

Finalizing an uncontested divorce may be faster than if the divorce is contested and the spouses are at odds.

Usually, the judge schedules a final hearing during which they review the Settlement Agreement and ask the couple questions. If all requirements are met, the interests of all parties are satisfied, and the agreement looks fair, the judge may sign a divorce decree. However, they can’t do it until the waiting period ends.

What Clients Say About Us

Stars

Divorce.com saved me from the stressful paperwork. Normally, completing legal forms drives me crazy. I just had to fill out a simple questionnaire with this platform, and all my documents were ready in 2 days.

Iris K.

Stars

My divorce was uncontested, so paying thousands of dollars to a lawyer to prepare the documents seemed unreasonable to me. I chose Divorce.com because of the affordable price. For this money, I got ready-to-sign paperwork and filing instructions for Michigan.

David B.

Stars

After resolving all disputes with my spouse, we searched for the fastest way to prepare legal paperwork for our divorce. We used Divorce.com and couldn’t have been more satisfied. We filled out the online survey in half an hour and downloaded the completed papers in a couple of days.

Vivienne G.

Stars

I’m one of those people who believe that if something can be done online, it should be done online. I used the same strategy for my divorce paperwork. Divorce.com helped me fill out all the necessary forms without even leaving my apartment.

William T.

Prev slideNext slide
1/
Uncontested divorce 
in Michigan

Uncontested Divorce in Michigan

An uncontested divorce in Michigan is one of the frequently-chosen processes among spouses because it helps save time, money, and normal relations between future ex-spouses.

To qualify for an uncontested divorce, the spouses must come to a mutual agreement on debts and property division, alimony, child custody, child support, etc. Having agreed on all aspects, the spouses must sign a Settlement Agreement that describes all the terms.

One of the main benefits of an uncontested divorce is the ability to proceed without a lawyer. It saves a lot of money, as the hourly rate for a family law attorney consultation in Michigan can range from $250 to $500.

Moreover, an uncontested process often involves only one final hearing, dramatically speeding the dissolution of a marriage.

Child custody

Getting a Divorce with Children in Michigan

Child custody

Divorcing spouses with minor children must decide on legal and physical custody. Legal custody is an opportunity to make important decisions in a child’s life. Physical custody determines which parent the child will live with after the divorce. Each of them can be sole or shared.

In an uncontested divorce, parents resolve custody issues without court involvement.

If the parents can’t do it, the judge will decide for them focused on the best interests of the child, which are determined by the following factors:

  • Emotional ties between the child and parents
  • Each parent’s capacity and willingness to give the child love, affection, and guidance
  • Each parent’s capacity and willingness to provide the child with food, clothing, and medical care
  • How much time the child has lived in a stable and satisfactory environment
  • The permanence of the custodial home or homes
  • Each parent's moral fitness, mental and physical health
  • The child's home, school, and community record
  • The child's reasonable preferences
  • Each parent's willingness to foster a close relationship between the child and the other parent
  • Any case of domestic violence
  • Any other relevant factor
Child Support

Child Support

Child support is money paid by one parent to the other to support the child or children financially after parental divorce.

The amount is calculated based on the Michigan Child Support Formula. The formula is based on both parents’ income, the number of children, the number of nights the child spends with each parent, etc.

This support usually ends when the child turns 18. However, it may continue until the child is 19 ½ old, if they are a full-time high school student, are likely to graduate, and live with a parent who receives support or is in an institution.

Divorce Without a Lawyer in Michigan

Divorce Without
a Lawyer
in Michigan

Divorce without a lawyer can be a cost-effective option for spouses pursuing uncontested proceedings. Since the partners agree, they don’t need to hire an expensive lawyer to defend their interests in court for $500 per hour.

However, some partners still resort to the help of a lawyer when it comes to preparing legal paperwork. This process is quite complicated for people without legal education, and professional assistance can be very helpful. The downside is that it increases costs.

However, there’s an alternative that will help save a fortune.

Using Divorce.com, you can easily select and complete all the necessary documents without an attorney. You just need to complete our simple questionnaire and then download court-ready papers, within 2 business days. No legal background is necessary.

All forms you receive will match your case and comply with state and court standards. What’s more, you’ll get a clear step-by-step filing guide for Michigan.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long will it take to get divorced in Michigan?

An uncontested divorce without children can take 60 days minimum. If there are children, the divorce is possible, only after 6 months.

Can I get a free divorce in Michigan?

Spouses can apply for a court fee waiver. If they get court approval, all fees will be canceled.

How do I file for divorce in Michigan?

Spouses need to complete relevant divorce papers and file them with the court in the county where they meet residency requirements. Spouses can also apply for a divorce online if allowed in their county.

How much does a divorce cost in Michigan?

The average cost of a divorce in Michigan is $12,900. Spouses choosing a lawyer-free uncontested divorce and using Divorce.com can cut divorce expenses down to filing fees and paperwork generation.