Start your divorce online in Utah

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM

Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Your satisfaction is 100% guaranteed.
$299
Let’s confirm you qualify
Not in Utah? Find your state By clicking "Let’s get started" you agree to the Terms of Service

Find a happier ending at Divorce.comTM Save time, money, and stress, guided by the most experienced team in online divorce

Our online divorce solution launched the industry
SaveYou can save thousands over the typical divorce process
OverMore than 22 years and over 800,000 customers served
No one-size-fits-all plan— you choose the tools you need
Benefits of 
an online divorce

Benefits of an online divorce

Why Choose Divorce.com?

Divorce.com is a prompt and affordable option to prepare for an uncontested divorce in Utah. This online service eliminates the need to hire expensive attorneys and, thus, saves thousands of dollars in legal fees.

Divorce.com will help you collect and fill out the court-required papers in just two business days. And, you can be sure that all the forms will comply with the state standards and fit your circumstances.

You will only have to complete a couple of steps using any device with an Internet connection:

  • Pass a brief eligibility check and answer the questions from our online interview.
  • You can change and correct your answers before submitting them for processing.
  • Download the forms in a PDF format and print them.
  • Use the accompanying filing instructions to file your case with the court.

Divorce.com is a reliable and affordable solution for your uncontested divorce!

Utah divorce forms

Utah Divorce Forms

Starting an uncontested divorce in Utah requires collecting and filing the following basic forms:

  • Petition for Divorce
  • Summons (Form 1015GEJ)
  • Proof of Completed Service (Form 1020GEJ)
  • Certificate of Service (Form 1021GEJ)
  • Acceptance of Service, Appearance, Consent, and Waiver
  • Domestic Relations Injunction (Form 1501FAJ)
  • Stipulation
  • Motion to Waive Fees and Statement Supporting Motion (Form 1305GEJ)
  • Parenting Plan (Form 1401FAJ)
  • Child support obligation worksheet (Forms 1020FAJ, 1021FAJ, 1022FAJ)
  • Motion to Waive 30-day Divorce Waiting Period (Form 1211FAJ)
  • Income Verification and Compliance with Child Support Guidelines (Form 1052FAJ)
  • Notice of Education Requirements (Form 1201FAJ)
  • Motion to Waive Education Requirements (Form 1202FAJ)
  • Financial Declaration (Form 1352FAJ)
  • Notice of Disclosure Requirements in Domestic Relations Cases (Form 1351FAJ)
  • Certificate of Service of Financial Declaration (Form 1353FAJ)
  • Certificate of Divorce, Dissolution of Marriage, or Annulment
  • Divorce Decree

Not all divorce documents apply to every case. For example, a parenting plan and child support worksheets are unnecessary if the spouses don’t have underage children. Thus, finding out which forms you must file before going to court is a good idea.

Divorce forms preparation

Divorce forms preparation

How to Fill Out Divorce Forms in Utah

Filling out the legal forms takes time and attention to detail and can be complicated. So, here is a list of tips to simplify this task:

  • Get the blank forms that apply to your situation (e.g., children or no children).
  • Read them and look up any unknown terminology in Utah Statutes or legal dictionaries.
  • Collect important information, such as the date of marriage, separation, each spouse’s address, and employer’s contacts.
  • Discuss the divorce terms with your husband or wife before filling out the forms.
  • Complete the documents with the required information.
  • Check the papers for errors and typos.

After finishing the paperwork, the next step is filing them with the court. If the clerk finds any mistakes or missing files, a petitioner must fix the papers and repeat the filing attempt.

Several forms need notarization which means that you must sign them in front of a notary public and get their signature.

If you want to simplify the paperwork preparation process, Divorce.com can help you. This service is a middle ground between the DIY divorce and hiring a lawyer to get the papers.

Divorce.com will assist you with generating and filling out all the necessary court forms fast and without hassle. Your only task will be to answer the questions and provide information about your marriage and divorce.

You’ll get a complete packet of papers in just two business days. Divorce.com will also send you a detailed filing guide with instructions on filing your case with the court.

Filing for
Divorce in
Utah

Steps to Consider

Residency Requirements

The Utah courts will have jurisdiction over the spouses and their divorce case, if they meet the state residency requirements.

So, to file for divorce, either spouse must have lived in the state and particular county for three months before initiating the marriage dissolution process.

If one spouse is a military member, they can also count as Utah residents for divorce, if they have been stationed in Utah for three months before filing.

Grounds for Divorce

Under Utah state laws, the spouses must provide a reason for divorce. The couple can choose from the no-fault and fault-based grounds. No-fault grounds are:

  • irreconcilable differences
  • separation for three years with an alimony order

If the petitioner chooses one of the fault-based reasons, they must prove their allegations in court. The fault grounds include:

  • impotence
  • adultery
  • willful desertion for one or more years
  • habitual drunkenness
  • incurable insanity
  • the commitment of a felony during the marriage, etc.
Initial Filing

Spouses have several options to start their divorce. First, they can gather and complete all the paperwork independently, if they agree to all terms. If not, they may hire a lawyer. Then, when the papers are ready, the petitioner must go to the county court and file them with the clerk’s office.

The initial papers include a petition for Divorce, Summons, Domestic Relations Injunction, and a few other forms. Take these papers plus two copies to court and give them to the clerk.

Filing Fees

The court clerk will charge each petitioner $310 in court fees. If they can’t afford the payment and have financial proof, they may ask a judge for a fee waiver. Proof means a person must provide a financial affidavit with information about their income, expenses, property declaration, etc.

To request a fee waiver, a petitioner must file a Motion to Waive Fees (form 1305GEJ). Then, a judge will review the request and grant or reject it.

Serving the Respondent

In any lawsuit, including divorce, a petitioner must inform the respondent about the initiation of the divorce proceedings. They have several options to serve their spouse.

If the couple agrees on all terms, the respondent can sign the Acceptance of Service form after getting copies of the original papers. Otherwise, the documents should be delivered by a sheriff, a private process server, or certified mail. Then, the petitioner (or the respondent) files this acknowledgment of service with the court.

Waiting Period

The spouses have to wait for 30 days from the moment of filing the petition to get a divorce decree. The couple can use this period to attend divorce and parenting classes or clarify issues concerning divorce terms. In reality, settling these issues usually takes more than a month.

Even if the parenting class isn’t court-ordered, it is a good idea to complete it anyway, especially if the divorce is contested. Finally, the couple can ask to schedule a court hearing when the waiting period is over.

Finalizing a Divorce Case

A brief hearing is usually the only time spouses with amicable divorces must go to court. If they agree on all terms, and the judge finds their papers just and in complete order, they will get the final judgment the same day.

Both spouses should bring all copies of the initial papers to the hearing and be prepared to answer a few questions. After the hearing, the spouses should ask for a copy of the final decree from the clerk’s office.

What Clients Say About Us

Stars

It’s a perfect way to get divorce papers if you’re in a hurry and don’t want to spend tons of money on divorce. It took me a few days to get the papers. Then I took them to court, and the filing process went well.

Chris B.

Stars

Since I had no idea about how to start my divorce, I decided to use online services and chose Divorce.com. It’s relatively inexpensive and gives you all of the forms already filled out. I got mine in only two days.

Meghan S.

Stars

Divorce.com will help you only if your divorce is amicable. I answered a few questions online and got my paperwork really fast. Plus, the price is low, so I’m glad I didn’t hire an attorney.

Terry M.

Stars

I’m absolutely satisfied with the service. My documents were ready in a few days. Thanks for this opportunity to get the paperwork fast and affordably.

Randy P.

Prev slideNext slide
1/
Uncontested divorce 
in Utah

Uncontested Divorce in Utah

An uncontested divorce is a popular way to end a marriage since it allows the spouses to avoid court trials. If they can resolve the disputes outside the courthouse, they don’t need to hire a divorce lawyer, which decreases the divorce expenses.

If both parties agree on child-related terms, property division, and alimony, they can safely represent their case before a judge.

An amicable divorce is a much more straightforward process than traditional litigation. Typically, a petitioner files the petition and other papers, and both spouses conclude a mutual settlement agreement. Then, they attend a divorce hearing where a judge issues a divorce decree containing each party’s rights and obligations.

A settlement agreement should include:

  • child custody provisions
  • child support and alimony
  • property division, including real estate, retirement benefits, debts, etc.

If you need a quick solution to get your uncontested divorce papers, Divorce.com is the perfect place for you. With our help, you’ll prepare all court paperwork, fast and inexpensively.

Child custody

Getting a Divorce with Children in Utah

Child custody

Couples with minor children must address child custody and visitation before getting a divorce. If they cannot agree, the judge will decide these issues for them.

Utah family law has the following types of custody:

  • Joint legal custody. The parents make decisions about the child’s health, education, and well-being together.
  • Sole legal custody. Only one parent can decide how to raise their child.
  • Joint physical custody. The minor children live with each parent in turns, according to a court-approved schedule.
  • Sole physical custody. The children’s permanent home is with their primary custodial parent. The other parent may have visitation rights.

Utah judges will gravitate towards joint custody, if it’s in the child’s best interest. However, if the parents’ residences are far from each other, e.g., in different states, the judge may award sole physical custody so the child can have a stable home environment.

The factors that a judge will consider when issuing court orders are:

  • the child’s physical and psychological needs
  • the parents’ ability to satisfy the child’s needs and cooperate
  • whether each parent is ready to facilitate contact between the child and another parent
  • the distance between the parents’ homes
  • the preferences of the child
  • history of abuse and violence, etc.
Child Support

Child Support

Every divorce decree should include provisions about child support, which is a payment that a non-custodial parent pays for child expenses, such as education, health, or recreation.

The amount of this payment is usually calculated using the state child support guidelines. They contain tables with adjusted gross income and the number of children corresponding to the appropriate sum of support.

If the amount seems unfair, the family court judge can deviate from it. They also will add provisions for insurance and withholding income to the child support order.

Child support ends when a child comes of age, marries, becomes self-supporting, or emancipates in other ways.

Divorce Without a Lawyer in Utah

Divorce Without
a Lawyer
in Utah

Every couple can get a divorce without hiring an attorney. So if their divorce is amicable, they can represent themselves in court and save thousands of dollars.

For example, the average lawyer charges $200-$250 an hour for dealing with an uncontested divorce. If the law firm they work for is prestigious, the hourly fee will be higher.

Divorce is still a complicated matter, so many spouses proceeding without legal help will experience some difficulties. For instance, they will need to prepare the court papers to initiate their case.

For those of you who want to simplify the preparation process, Divorce.com will be a life saver. This service will assist you in generating all the court-required papers, in just two business days.

You will only need to complete a brief online questionnaire so that our system will have all the information to select and fill out the correct forms. You will also receive detailed filing instructions.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long will it take to get divorced in Utah?

The fewer disputes spouses have, the less time it’ll take to get divorced. For example, a contested divorce in Utah takes 9 months on average, while an amicable divorce takes 3 months.

Can I get a free divorce in Utah?

You can ask a judge to waive your filing fees, if you prove that you can’t afford to pay them. The process starts after filing a Motion to Waive Fees and Statement Supporting Motion forms and ends when a judge decides whether to grant this request.

How do I file for divorce in Utah?

First, you must prepare court documents, such as a petition and a marriage certificate. Then, take the originals and two copies to the local court clerk. You must also pay a filing fee.

How much does a divorce cost in Utah?

A Utah divorce costs approximately $10,000 if the spouses have more than one unresolved dispute. Uncontested divorces are much less expensive, so it’s beneficial to resolve differences in advance. And, if you want to save money on paperwork, choose Divorce.com, and your expenses will decrease significantly.